Rebecca & Daphné

Posted on août 22, 2014

0


Chapter One
Last Night I dreamt I went to Manderley again. It seemed to to me I stood by the iron gate leading to the drive, and for a while I could not enter, for the way was barred to me. There was a padlock and a chain upon the gate. I called in my dream to the lodge-keeper, and had no answer, and peering closer through the rusted spokes of the gate I saw that the lodge was uninhabited.

Sources http://gaskella.wordpress.com/2014/02/11/rebecca-covered/

IMG_0093.JPG</

IMG_0092.JPG

Sources https://www.flickr.com/photos/pulpcrush/1437068294/in/pool-bookcovers|pulpcrush

IMG_0096.JPG</

The central character of Jamaica Inn is Mary Yellen a young woman of twenty-three. She has lived all her life in the tranquil village of Helford, but when her mother dies she sets off to live with her mothers sister, Patience, a pretty, lively woman who Mary has not seen for many years. Aunt Patience lives with her landlord husband at Jamaica Inn on Bodmin Moor half way between Bodmin and Launceston.
Sources : http://www.dumaurier.org/reviews-jamaica.html

IMG_0095-0.JPG

The central character in Frenchman’s Creek is Lady Dona St Columb who lives with her husband Harry and their two small children Henrietta and James, at the court of Charles II. Dona and Harry spend much of their time in the company of Harry’s friend, Lord Rockingham and they all enjoy a life of aimless fun and merrymaking. Dona has a mild flirtation with Lord Rockingham and permits him to kiss her, but Rockingham misinterprets the situation and assumes a propritorial air over Dona while Harry looks on with lazy, slightly disapproving eyes.

Posted in: Books, Cover, Editions